sunrise over swamps

sunset over melancholy seas

water splashed on tiles and stuff like that

on September 29, 2011

I can’t explain how it happened or why, but sometime recently I realised that I like the patterns that water creates when splashed on the tiles in the shower. Admittedly I think that the brown-tiled shower in our run down abode is terribly ugly, but here’s what it looks like in black-and-white. (It’s less awful when you can’t see the brown.) Picture a whole shower-full of tiles just like this:

Shower Tiles With Water Splashed On Them - September 2011

Maybe it’s just my wandering imagination, but I realised that I get ideas for drawings by staring at the water splashes. It’s ridiculous, I know – but it seems to work for me.

Here’s the first drawing I made based on the abstract shapes I saw on the shower tiles:

Drawing - September 2011

There are others I am currently working on; if I like them enough to share, then share them I shall.

6 responses to “water splashed on tiles and stuff like that

  1. You’re not alone. I’m fascinated by the shapes stems makes on my mirror. 🙂

    I love your drawing!

  2. Rosie says:

    When I looked at the picture of the tiles…I was like…really? But then I looked at the sort of pictures they inspire you to create and I really like it (especially the haughty tilt of the llama like creature’s head (and raised toe) and the dejected ‘meh’ slump of the alien/swamp monster behind it)! So I think you should look at water dripping down tiles more regularly.

    Also *gasp*…you’ve moved blogs! 🙂

    • fikalo says:

      heheh Why, thank you! There are a few more drawings in the works. 😀

      Yes, it was funny how it happened. I’d been lamenting my lack of inspiration for new ideas for a while, and I tend to think about these sorts of things when I’m in the shower. Funny how that happens.

      And yes, new blog! I was ready for a change, and a shift in focus!

  3. annelouisep says:

    Good stuff. How wonderful to get inspiration from something so mundane as water splashing on tiles. Love the drawing!
    I saw seahorses in the water splashes too.

Leave a Reply

