sunrise over swamps

sunset over melancholy seas

NaPoWriMo 2013: Reflections

on April 30, 2013

napo2013button2

It’s finished! I have completed the 30 poems in 30 days challenge. And, boy, was it difficult.

It started out well – I had enough ideas in stock to get Β me through the first week or so of impromptu poetry writing. After that, though, it became a difficult journey of trying to challenge my creativity.

It surprised me, too, to see the themes that arose. In my mind I would like to be a nature poet, more in the vein of Gerard Manley Hopkins or Mary Oliver. In reality, I am a fumbling amateur struggling to string together a sentence while heavily swayed by my inner emotional torments.

However, this in itself was a lesson. I enjoyed the accountability of having a daily task to write. I also enjoyed playing with the words. While I will not be too quick to leap again onto a “one poem a day” schedule, it did spur me to get more active with my writing. The process is quite cathartic, and good practice at developing new ideas.

I am hoping to reshare the best of my contributions to NaPoWriMo 2013 at my RedBubble portfolio, but I would appreciate some reader feedback first. If you have a WordPress account, please feel free to hit the “Like” button or even rate my NaPoWriMo posts (please be kind!) if you particularly liked one, or two. Or share/comment as you wish. I will use any positive and constructive feedback to determine which five or so pieces of writing get immortalised at RedBubble.

A big thank you to the dedicated readers who kept up-to-date with my NaPoWriMo offerings. I enjoyed exploring your contributions, too!

 

Leave a Reply

